of 11

10 Skateboarders Who Deserve to Win Skater of the Year

Skateboarding may not be about competition, but skaters do take some awards seriously. For instance, you can trust that anyone competing in Street League cares about who takes home the trophy. These days, almost everyone who skates has an opinion on Thrasher Magazine’s Skater of the Year title. The storied monthly — the bible of skateboarding, in the eyes of many — has been giving out the honor for more than 20 years. In that time, names like Tony Hawk, Mike Carroll, Chris Cole, Danny Way, and Ishod Wair have accepted the award.

Who will be next? We’re not sure. However, we do know that being named SOTY is a big deal, and there are more than a few skaters who deserve it. Here are 10 who we hope get it one day.

Click to start the list

Latest News